How will my child be learning?   

Children in The Early Years Foundation Stage learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development, as outlined in the Early Years Foundation Stage (2014).

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and   emotionaldevelopment
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The curriculum is designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.